一些常见理财术语

在加拿大,有许多方式可以支付账单、购买物品、寄钱和收钱。 这些包括:

现金汇票和支票

支票: 支票上印有您的银行账户信息。 当您需要使用支票付款时,您需填上付款信息、签字,然后交给卖主。 当他们把支票存入自己的银行账户时,资金就会从您的账户划走。

带卡的借记卡和信用卡支付终端

借记卡(或银行卡): 当您开立加拿大银行账户时,您将收到一张借记卡和一个提供安全保障的密码(PIN)。 您可以用它来购买物品。 当您用借记卡支付时,资金会立即从您的账户中划走,支付给店家。

电脑前一张支票的插图

电子邮件转账(Interac 电子转账): 这是一种快速安全的转账方式。 使用这种方法支付时,您需填写收款人的电邮地址和付款金额。 银行会处理接下来的操作。

双手使用平板电脑完成网上理财

直接存款: 当有人通过直接存款付钱给您时,他们把资金直接汇入您的银行账户。 许多雇主用这种方法支付雇员工资。

电脑前一张支票的插图

预授权付款: 这是自动从您银行账户中划走资金的重复付款方式。 例如,人们用这种方法支付电话账单或水电费。 当您设置好在线预授权付款后,您不需要担心忘记支付账单。

信贷术语解释

年费: 一些信用卡收取年费,您每年必须支付一次。 收取年费的信用卡通常提供特殊优惠——例如,更低的利率、旅行里数,或其他奖励。

信用卡限额: 这是指允许您用信用卡透支的最大金额。

信用评级: 信用评级是针对您支付账单和偿还贷款信用度的一个评分, 一般介于 300 至 900 之间。 分数越高越好。 了解如何创建您的信用评级

最低还款额: 这是指您在收到账户账单时可以向银行还款的最低金额。 您可以支付高于,但不能低于最低还款额的金额。 如果低于该金额,会影响您的信用评级。

固定利率: 如果银行按固定利率对您的贷款收费,您须支付利息的金额将保持不变。

浮动利率: 如果银行按浮动利率对您的贷款收费,您须支付利息的金额将上下波动。

CMHC: 加拿大抵押贷款和住房公司(CMHC)是加拿大政府主管住房的机构。 他们提供调研和建议,帮助保持让购房者可以负担的加拿大住房市场。

首付款: 当您购房时,可能需要通过抵押来支付。 抵押是一种贷款。 您不能为新房获得 100% 的抵押,所以需要自己支付一部分房款。 这部分金额叫做首付款。

高比例抵押: 如果您购房价值的 80% 或以上依靠抵押,则属于高比例抵押。 高比例抵押必须有保险。 加拿大抵押贷款和住房公司(CMHC)能为您提供抵押保险服务。

房贷摊还期 当您获得房贷时,您和银行会约定您偿还贷款的年数。 这个时间叫做您的抵押还款期。 还款期最高通常为 25 年。 向银行了解详情。

房贷期限: 当您获得房贷贷款时,您同意在特定时期内支付特定的利息。 这个时间叫做房贷期限。

Some common banking terms

In Canada, there are many ways to pay bills, buy goods, send money and receive money. These include:

Cash bills and a cheque.

Cheque: A cheque is a piece of paper with your bank account information printed on it. To pay by cheque, you add the payment information, sign it, and give it to the person you are buying something from. When they deposit the cheque into their bank account, the money will come out of your account.

A  debit and credit card payment terminal with a card in it.

Debit card (or bank card): When you open a Canadian bank account, you will receive a debit card and a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for security. You can use these to pay for goods. When you pay with a debit card, the money will immediately be taken from your account and paid to the store.

Illustration of a cheque in front of a computer.

Email money transfer (Interac e-Transfer): This is a fast and safe way to transfer money to another person. To pay somebody this way, give your bank the email address of the recipient and the amount you wish to pay. The bank takes care of the rest.

Hands using a tablet to complete online banking.

Direct deposit: When someone gives you money by direct deposit, they put money directly into your bank account. Many employers pay their employees this way. 

Illustration of a cheque in front of a computer.

Pre-authorized payments: These are repeated payments that come out of your bank account automatically. People use these to pay phone bills or hydro bills, for example. When you set up a pre-authorized payment online, you do not have to worry about forgetting to pay your bill. 

An explanation of credit terms

Annual fee: Some credit cards will charge you an annual fee that you must pay once a year. Credit cards with an annual fee usually offer special benefits – for example, a lower interest rate, travel miles, or other rewards.

Credit card limit: This is the maximum amount you are allowed to borrow with your credit card.

Credit rating: Your credit rating is a number between 300 and 900 that lets money lenders know if they can trust you to pay your bills and pay back loans. The higher your score, the better. Find out how to build your credit rating.

Minimum payment: This is the lowest amount you are allowed to pay back to the bank when you get your account bill. You can pay more than the minimum payment, but you must not pay less. If you pay less it will damage your credit rating.

Fixed rate: If the bank charges you a fixed rate of interest on a loan, the amount of interest you must pay will stay the same.

Variable rate: If the bank charges you a variable rate of interest on a loan, the amount of interest you must pay may go up or down.

CMHC: The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) is the Canadian government’s housing authority. They provide research and advice to help keep the Canadian housing market affordable to home buyers.

Down payment: If you are buying a home, you may need a mortgage to help pay for it. A mortgage is a type of loan. You cannot get a mortgage for 100% of the cost of your new home, so you will have to pay some of the cost yourself. This amount is called the down payment.

High-ratio mortgage: If you get a mortgage for 80% of the value of your home or more, it is considered a high-ratio mortgage. High-ratio mortgages must be insured. The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) can help you with mortgage insurance.

Mortgage amortization: When you get a mortgage, you and your bank agree on the number of years you can take to pay it back in full. This time is referred to as your mortgage amortization. The maximum amortization is usually 25 years. Ask your bank for details.

Mortgage Term: When you get a mortgage, you will agree to pay a certain interest rate for a specific length of time. This length of time is called the mortgage term.