买车还是租赁汽车?

有车能让您的出行更加便捷。 您不再需要等待公共交通、打的、或者搭别人的车。 当您选择车辆类型后,您需要决定如何支付:买车或租赁。

车钥匙的插图。

租赁汽车

如果您选择租赁汽车,您不需要实际拥有它。 车供您使用,但租赁期一到,您必须还车给租车行。 在加拿大,大部分人会租赁 2 至 4 年时间。 租赁汽车的这段时间叫做租赁期。 租赁车款按月支付。

租赁汽车的好处在于您可以驾驶新车或者比较新的车。 当租赁期满后,您的租车行往往会邀请您租用同款车的最新型号,或者同款的另一辆车。 这时您可以租赁另一辆车 2 至 4 年。

租赁汽车需满足特定的条件。 比如,您会被告知您在租赁期内能驾驶多少公里。 如果您驾驶路程超过约定额,您需要在租期满时支付一笔费用。 另外,因为车实际上不属于您,所以您不能对车进行改装。 例如,您不能给车加上定制的装饰元素。 如果您在租完一辆车后接着租赁另一辆车,您能一直开好车,但您就得一直付钱。

购买汽车

在加拿大,很少人能在买新车时支付全款。 大部分人选择贷款——通过车行或银行——并支付月供车款。 您通常可以约定适合您需求的付款期限。 或许您需要偿还贷款一两年或者更久。

当您还完贷款后,您就可以享受自己的车而不需要每月还款。 然而,您必须考虑车会随着时间的推移而需要维修和保养。 您将需要自己支付维修和保养费用。

哪种方式适合您?

在决定租赁还是购买汽车时,重要的是比较金额和好处。 租赁汽车付款时间长,但每月付款金额往往更低。 并且您不需要担心汽车的可靠性。 买车时,只要您照顾好车,付款总额更低。

To buy or to lease?

Geting a car can make it easier to get yourself from here to there. You no longer have to wait for public transport, call a taxi, or ask somebody for a ride. Once you choose what type of car you want, you will need to decide how to pay for it: leasing or buying.

Illustration of car keys.

Leasing a car

When you lease a car, you do not actually own it. The car is yours to use and enjoy, but when the lease ends you must return it to the car dealership. In Canada, most people who lease a car take out a lease for 2 to 4 years. The time for which you lease a car is referred to as the lease term. Lease payments are made monthly.

The nice thing about leasing is that you get to drive a new or fairly new car. When your lease ends, your car dealership will probably invite you to lease the latest model of the same car or another vehicle of the same make. At this time, you can get another car on a 2- to 4-year lease.

Certain conditions apply when you lease a car. For example, you will be told how many kilometres you can drive throughout the lease term. If you drive more than agreed upon, you will have to pay a fee at the end of the term. Also, because the car is actually not yours, you cannot make changes to the vehicle. For example, you cannot add any custom artwork to your car. Also, if you lease one car after another, you will always get to drive a nice car, but your payments will never end.

Buying a car

In Canada, few people are able to pay in full when they buy a new car. Most people take out a loan – either through the car dealership or through their bank – and pay for the car by making monthly payments. You can usually agree on a payment term that suits your needs. Perhaps you will be able to pay back the loan over 1 or 2 years or you may need longer.

Once you have paid back your loan, you will get to enjoy having a car without having to make monthly payments. However, you must consider that over time your car will require repairs and service. You will have to pay for these repairs and service yourself.

What’s right for you?

When deciding whether to lease or buy a car, it is important to compare numbers as well as benefits. When you lease, you will pay more over the years but you will usually have lower monthly payments. Plus, you will not have to worry about the car’s reliability. When you buy a car, you may spend less over the years, as long as you take good care of the car.