加拿大为求职的新移民提供很多机会。 找到合适的工作需要一些准备。 下面是开始找工作的一些建议。 

获得社会保险卡(SIN)

如果您想要在加拿大工作,您需要加拿大政府授予的社会保险卡(SIN)。 有了 SIN,您就能合法挣钱、纳税、缴纳养老保险、享受政府服务。 

有两种方法获得 SIN。 您可以 通过邮件申请,或亲自前往Service Canada中心办理。 当您的申请被批准后,您会通过信件收到您的 SIN 卡。

携带您的学历证明

取决于您所希望从事的工作类型,您可能需要提供您的学历证明。当您抵达加拿大时,请确保携带您所有学院或大学的学位、文凭或证书。欲了解您的学历证明在加拿大是否有效,请访问加拿大公民及移民部

撰写简历

当您求职时,雇主往往会要求您提供简历。 简历帮助雇主决定面试对象。 您的简历中应包括您的工作经验、教育背景和技能。 它应能帮助雇主了解您为什么是合适的岗位人选。 

您可以在很多简历网站上找到范例。 您还可以使用 Service Canada 中心的 简历编辑器(Résumé Builder)

一双手在办公桌边翻看 4 份简历,旁边有一台笔记本电脑和一部电话。

开始搜索职位

开始搜索职位的最好地方是您当地的 Service Canada 中心。 这里有很多实用信息。 他们还提供面试培训,帮助您写简历。 此外,您还可以使用他们的 网上职业库

很多公司会在网上列出空缺职位。 访问您感兴趣的公司网站,查看是否有“招聘(Careers)”这一部分。 还有如 Monster.ca 和 Metropolis.com 等职位搜索网站也会发布空缺职位、提供面试和简历建议。

招聘会是求职者可以前往,与雇主面对面的活动。 这些活动让您有机会在一天之内见到多个雇主。 使用互联网搜索在您附近城镇举办的招聘会。

人际交流也很重要。 人际交流意味着与他人建立联系。 当您寻找工作时,应尽量与更多的人交流。 与您打交道的人可能无法为您提供职位,但他们可能将您介绍给正在招聘的人。 您可以在 Linkedin.com 上创建职业档案,进行网上交流。

加拿大有很多空缺职位。 也有很多人求职。 为确保雇主注意到您,尽量撰写一份最好的简历,并在去面试之前练习面试技巧。 在面试后向雇主发送电邮或信函也是个好主意,感谢他们抽时间面试,并告知您对这个机会很感兴趣。

祝您求职顺利!

Canada offers many opportunities to newcomers who are looking for work. Finding the right job takes some preparation. Here is some advice to get you started. 

Get a Social Insurance Number (SIN)

If you want to work in Canada, you will need a Social Insurance Number (SIN) from the Government of Canada. With a SIN, you can earn money legally, pay taxes, contribute to pension plans and use government services. 

There are 2 ways to get your SIN. You can apply by mail, or in-person at a Service Canada Centre. Once your application has been approved, you will receive your SIN card in the mail.

Bring proof of your academic qualifications

Depending on the type of job you want, you may or may not have to show proof of your academic qualifications. Make sure you bring any college or university degrees, diplomas, or certificates with you when you arrive. To find out if your academic qualifications are valid in Canada, visit Citizenship and Immigration Canada.  

Prepare your résumé

When you apply for a job, the employer will probably ask you to provide a résumé. Résumés help employers decide who they want to interview. Your résumé should include your work experience, education, and skills. It should help the employer understand why you are the right candidate for the job. 

There are a lot of résumé websites where you can find examples. You can also use Service Canada Centre’s Résumé Builder.

A pair of hands, reviewing 4 resumes on a desk, with a laptop and cell phone near by.

Begin your job search

A great place to start your job search is your local Service Canada Centre. They have lots of helpful information. They also offer interview training and can help you with your résumé. Plus, they have an online job bank you can use.

Many companies list job openings online. Go to the websites of companies that interest you to see if they have a “Careers” section. There are also job search websites like Monster.ca and Metropolis.com that share job openings and offer interview and résumé advice.

Job fairs are events where people who are looking for work can go and meet employers in person. These events give you an opportunity to meet a lot of employers in a single day. Use the internet to search for job fairs happening in a city or town near you.

Networking is also important. Networking means building relationships with other people. When you are looking for work, you should network with as many people as you can. The people that you are networking with may not be able to offer you a job, but they may be able to introduce you to someone who is looking for employees. You can network online by creating a professional profile at Linkedin.com.

There are lots of job openings in Canada. There are also lots of people looking for work. To make sure employers pay attention to you, create the best résumé you can and practice your interview skills before you go to an interview. It is also a good idea to send an email or letter to employers after your interviews, to thank them for their time and tell them that you are very interested in the opportunity. 

Good luck with your job search!