10 أشياء تفعلها عندما تبدأ حياة جديدة في كندا

تحتوي كندا على الكثير من الفرص الرائعة للوافدين الجدد. ولمساعدتك على الاستفادة من هذه الفرص، أعددنا قائمة بالأشياء المهمة التي ينبغي عليك فعلها خلال العام الأول من وصولك.

في الأسبوع الأول

تقدم لاستخراج رقم تأمين اجتماعي.

إذا كنت تريد العمل في كندا، أو فتح حساب مصرفي، أو الالتحاق بالبرامج الحكومية والحصول على المزايا الحكومية، فسوف تحتاج إلى رقم تأمين اجتماعي. تقدّم شخصياً للحصول عليه في مركز الخدمات الحكومية الكندية الأقرب إليك. عندما تقدم طلبك، ستحتاج إلى إحضار وثائق معك تثبت هويتك ووضعك القانوني. اعرف الوثائق التي يجب عليك إحضارها.

طبيب شاب

احم نفسك بالرعاية الطبية

يحصل جميع المواطنين الكنديين والمقيمين الدائمين على تأمين صحي عام لتغطية رعايتهم الطبية. بطاقات التأمين الصحي تصدرها حكومة المقاطعة أو الإقليم الذي تعيش فيه. للتعرف على تفاصيل حول كيفية التقديم للحصول على تأمين صحي، زر أحد مراكز الخدمات الحكومية الكندية

ضع في اعتبارك أنه قد تكون هناك قائمة انتظار. إذا لم تستطع الحصول على تأمين صحي عام فوراً، ربما يكون الأنسب أن تتقدم للحصول على تأمين صحي خاص مؤقت. للمزيد من المعلومات، زر Settlement.org.

رتب أمورك المالية

ينبغي عليك فتح حساب مصرفي فور وصولك. في وجود حساب مصرفي، يمكنك وضع أموالك في مكان آمن، وشراء الأشياء، وسداد الفواتير بسهولة. يُستحسن أن تختار بنكاً لديه فرع قريب منك، وساعات عمله تناسب جدولك، ولديه الكثير من آلات الصرف بحيث يمكنك الوصول إلى أموالك بسهولة.

ويقدم CIBC المنتجات المصرفية التي تحتاج إليها كوافد جديد إلى كندا.

في الشهر الأول

منزل

تعرّف على مجتمعك المحلي

تضم كندا الكثير من المنظمات المكرسة لمساعدة الوافدين الجدد على العثور على مكان يعيشون فيه والبحث عن عمل وتعلم الإنجليزية أو الفرنسية وغير ذلك الكثير. للحصول على خدمات مجانية للمهاجرين في مجتمعك المحلي، زر إدارة المواطنة والهجرة الكندية.

تقدم المكتبات العامة والمراكز المجتمعية وجمعيات الجاليات أيضاً معلومات مفيدة، وتقيم أنشطة يمكنك المشاركة فيها. المشاركة في الأنشطة المجتمعية طريقة رائعة لبناء صداقات جديدة.

ابحث عن عمل

يعتبر مركز الخدمات الحكومية الكندية القريب منك مكاناً جيداً تبدأ فيه البحث عن وظيفة. يوجد بالمركز كثير من المعلومات المفيدة، ويوفر تدريباً على المقابلات الشخصية ويمكنه مساعدتك في إعداد سيرتك الذاتية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك يوجد لديه بنك وظائف على الإنترنت يمكنك استخدامه. اعرف المزيد عن العثور على وظيفة في كندا.

حافلة مدرسية

سجل أولادك في الدراسة

يستحق جميع الأطفال الذين يعيشون في كندا تلقي التعليم الأولي والثانوي بالمجان. لتسجيل أولادك في الدراسة، سيلزمك تقديم ما يثبت أعمارهم وعنوانك الحالي. بعض المدارس سيختبر مهارات أولادك في الرياضيات واللغة الإنجليزية لمعرفة ما إن كانوا يحتاجون إلى دعم إضافي فيها. لبدء عملية التسجيل، اتصل بالمدرسة الأقرب إليك. اعرف المزيد عن النظام الدراسي الكندي.

طبيب شاب

اعثر على طبيب بشري أو طبيب أسنان

كثير من الأطباء الكنديون جداولهم مزدحمة ولا يقبلون مرضى جدداً، لذا قد يستغرق منك العثور على طبيب بعض الوقت. اطلب ترشيحات من الأصدقاء والجيران. يمكنك أيضاً الحصول على مساعدة بالاتصال بمركز خدمات المهاجرين. إذا احتجت إلى رعاية صحية عاجلة ولم تجد بعد طبيب أسرة، زر عيادة تستقبل المرضى بلا موعد مسبق أو مستشفى.

اسأل الأصدقاء والجيران عما إذا كانوا يرشحون طبيب أسنان جيداً أيضاً. إذا لم يكن بمقدورهم مساعدتك، اتصل بسلطة تنظيم طب الأسنان أو نقابة أطباء الأسنان في إقليمك أو مقاطعتك.

اعثر على مسكن دائم

عندما تصل إلى كندا أول مرة، ربما تكون إقامتك لدى قريب أو صديق أو في فندق. لكنك سترغب على الأرجح في العثور على مسكن خاص بك بأسرع ما يمكن. يمكن أن توافيك مؤسسة القروض العقارية والإسكان الكندية بمعلومات عن الاستئجار والشراء.

في السنة الأولى

رخصة القيادة

احصل على رخصة قيادة

إذا كانت لديك رخصة قيادة صادرة من بلدك الأصلي، فقد يكون بمقدورك قيادة سيارة بشكل قانوني في كندا لبضعة أشهر، لكنك ستحتاج في النهاية إلى استخراج رخصة قيادة كندية. لاستخراج رخصتك، يلزمك اجتياز اختبار سير واختبار تحريري. يتّبع كل إقليم ومقاطعة إجراءات خاصة به في التقديم.

حسّن مهاراتك اللغوية

قدرتك على التواصل مع الآخرين في كندا شيء مهم. والتواصل الجيد سيسهّل عليك العثور على عمل، والحصول على الخدمات المصرفية والتسوق، والحصول على الرعاية الطبية، والتحدث مع معلمي أولادك، وإقامة صداقات جديدة، وغير ذلك الكثير. إذا لم تكن تتحدث الإنجليزية أو الفرنسية بطلاقة، فربما يمكنك تلقي دروس مجانية يقدمها معلمون متمرسون مؤهلون من خلال الحكومة الكندية.

10 things to do when you start your new life in Canada

Canada has many wonderful opportunities for newcomers. To help you take advantage of these opportunities, we have put together a list of important things you should do within the first year of your arrival.

In the first week

Apply for your Social Insurance Number (SIN)

If you want to work in Canada, open a bank account, or access government programs and benefits, you will need a Social Insurance Number (SIN). Apply in person at your nearest Service Canada Centre. When you apply, you will need to bring documents with you that prove your identity and legal status. Find out which documents you’ll need to bring with you.

Young, male doctor

Protect yourself with medical care

All Canadian citizens and permanent residents get public health insurance to cover their medical care. Health insurance cards are issued by the government of your home province or territory. For details on how to apply for health insurance, visit Service Canada

Keep in mind that there may be a waiting list. If you can’t get public health insurance immediately, you may want to apply for temporary private health insurance. For more information, visit Settlement.org.

Set up your finances

As soon as you arrive, you should open a bank account. With a bank account, you can keep your money safe, and buy things and pay bills easily. You’ll want to choose a bank that has a branch near you, with opening hours that suite your schedule, and lots of automated bank machines so that you can access your money easily.

CIBC has the banking products you need as a newcomer to Canada.

In the first month

House

Get to know your community

Canada has many organizations that are dedicated to helping newcomers find a place to live, look for work, learn English or French, and more. For free immigrant services in your community, visit Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

Public libraries, community centres and ethnic associations also offer helpful information, and have activities that you can join. Taking part in community activities is a great way to build new friendships.

Look for work

A good place to start your job search is your local Service Canada Centre. They have lots of helpful information, offer interview training, and can help you with your résumé. Plus, they have an online job bank you can use. Learn more about finding a job in Canada.

School bus

Register your children for school

All children living in Canada are entitled to a free elementary and secondary school education. To register your child in school, you will need to provide proof of your child’s age and your current address. Some schools will want to test your child’s math and English language skills to see if extra support would be helpful. To begin the registration process, contact your local school. Learn more about Canada’s school system.

Young, male doctor

Find a doctor and dentist

Many Canadian doctors are very busy and do not accept new patients, so it may take some time to find a doctor. Ask friends and neighbours for recommendations. You can also get help by contacting an Immigrant service centre. If you need urgent medical care and you have not yet found a family doctor, visit a walk-in clinic or hospital.

Ask your friends and neighbours if they can recommend a good dentist, too. If they can not help you, contact a Dental Regulatory Authority or Association in your province or territory

Find a permanent home

When you first arrive in Canada, you may be staying with relatives or friends or in a hotel. However, you will probably want to find a home of your own as soon as you can. The Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) can give you information about renting and buying.

In the first year

Driver's license

Get a driver's licence

If you have a driver’s licence from your home country, you may be able to legally drive in Canada for a few months, but you will eventually need to get a Canadian driver’s licence. To get your licence, you will need to take a road test and a written test. Each province and territory has its own application process.

Improve your language skills

Your ability to communicate with other people in Canada is important. Good communication will make it easier for you to find work, do your banking and shopping, get medical attention, speak to your children’s teachers, make new friends, and more. If you do not speak English or French fluently, you may be able to take free classes offered by qualified, experienced teachers through the Government of Canada.