有何区别呢?

储蓄与投资都能帮助您实现财务目标。 储蓄最适合短期内的小目标。 储蓄还能帮您为诸如失业等紧急情况做好准备。 投资更适合更大的长期目标。

储蓄

在储蓄时,您将现金放在一个可以便利存取的安全地方。 例如,您可以将钱放入您银行的储蓄或支票账户。 在加拿大银行储蓄非常安全,因为加拿大存款保险公司(CDIC)为您的资金提供高达 $100,000 的保险。

根据您存钱的银行账户类型,您可以赚得一些利息。 储蓄的目的不在于得到利息。 存钱的目的在于确保您能在有需要时便利地存取。

您应储蓄多少? 作为普遍规则,您应当至少存够支撑您 6 个月生活费的钱。 这样,如果您丢掉工作,您还能支付账单、养活自己和家人及购买需要的东西。 您还应当存够让您实现短期目标的钱,比如存钱支付新房的首付款。

投资

投资与储蓄大有不同。 您不是简单地把钱放在某个地方。 您用钱来购买您希望随着时间推移能带给您良好回报的资产——例如,股票、债券或不动产。 大部分投资是不能让您在遇到紧急情况下将钱便利、快速拿出来的。 这也是进行储蓄的重要性。

投资往往伴随一定程度的风险。 某些投资风险低,某些风险一般,还有些很高。 一般来说,相比低风险投资,高风险投资有可能带来更高的回报。 但您也可能损失更多。 所有投资都比常规储蓄账户更可能带来更高回报。

当您确定自己准备好开始投资时,您需要设立一些投资目标。 例如,您需要考虑您希望实现哪些投资目标及何时实现。 您还需要考虑您愿意承担多大的风险。 当您做完这些后,您就可以开始考虑您感兴趣的投资类型。

一般而言,分散投资是个不错的选择。 这意味着一次投资数个不同的行业和地理区域。 当您分散投资时,如果某支基金因为某个领域或地区的经济问题而价值下跌,您只会损失部分投资,而不是全部。 分散投资有助降低投资风险。

What is the difference?

Saving and investing can both help you achieve financial goals. Saving is most suitable for smaller goals within a short time period. Saving can also help prepare you for an emergency, such as a job loss. Investing is more suitable for bigger, longer-term goals.

Saving

When you save, you put cash away in a safe place where you can access it easily. For example, you might put it in a savings or chequing account at your bank. Saving through a Canadian bank is very safe because the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) automatically insures up to $100,000 of your money.

Depending on what type of bank account you put your money in, you may earn some interest on it. The goal of saving money is not to earn interest. The goal of saving money is making sure you can access cash easily, any time you need it.

How much should you save? As a general rule, you should save at least enough money to cover your living expenses for 6 months. This way, if you lose your job, you will still be able to pay your bills, feed yourself and your family, and buy things you need. You should also save enough so that you can reach any short-term goals you have, such as saving enough for a down-payment on a new home.

Investing

Investing is very different from saving. You do not simply put your money away somewhere safe. You use your money to buy assets – for example, stocks, bonds or real estate – that you hope will earn you a good return over time. With most investments, you cannot take out money easily or quickly in an emergency. That is why it is so important to also have savings.

There is usually some level of risk with investments. Some investments are low risk, some are medium risk, and some are high risk. Generally, high-risk investments offer the possibility of higher returns than low-risk investments. But you can also lose more. All investments offer the possibility of higher returns than a regular savings account.

Once you have decided you are ready to begin investing, you will need to set some investing goals. For example, you will want to consider what financial goals you want to achieve, and when you want to achieve them. You will also need to think about how much risk you are willing to take. Once you have done this, you can start to think about the types of investments you are interested in.

In general, it is good to diversify your investments. This means investing in several different industries and geographic regions at once. When you diversify your investments, if the value of one fund drops because of economic issues in its sector or region, you only lose part of your investment, not all of it. Diversifying can help lower the risk of investing.