了解学校体系

所有在加拿大生活的儿童都有资格接受免费的小学和中学教育。 他们通常在 4 岁或 5 岁时进入小学。 他们从幼儿园开始。 然后升至 1 年级,在 8 年级完成小学毕业。 他们随后进入被称为“高中”的中学。 在加拿大的大部分地区,高中包括 9 至 12 年级。 高中毕业后,孩子们可以继续在学院或大学深造。 加拿大的高等教育并不免费。

在小学和中学,有公立和私立学校之分。 公立学校由政府提供资金。 包括天主教学校、基督教学校,以及非宗教学校。 如果您将孩子送入公立学校,则不用支付学费。 如果送入私立学校,则需要支付学费。

书架上放着一排书。

为孩子注册入校

为孩子注册入读小学或中学时,您需要提供您孩子的年龄证明和当前住址。 某些学校还会测试您孩子的数学和英语语言技能,以确定是否需要额外支持。 您需要请联系您当地的学校,以开始注册流程。

带有加拿大国旗的背包,露出放在里面的钢笔和笔记本。

会发生的事情

在加拿大,学年在 9 月开始,6 月结束。 您的孩子需要周一至周五上学,节假日除外。 如果您到达加拿大时正逢学年年中,不必担心, 您的孩子仍然可以马上入校。

在小学,您的孩子会学习基本读写、数学、社会学、科学、健康、体育和美术课程。 这些被称为核心科目。 在中学,您的孩子将继续学习这些核心科目。 同时,您的孩子还需要为学院或大学做好准备。 如果您的孩子有特别的兴趣或想要为特定职业做准备,也可以探索其他学科。

您的孩子还可以参加课后或午间活动,比如集体运动、科学、音乐和戏剧社团。 参加这些活动能帮助他们为申请大学做好准备。

教师会一年写两次报告卡给家长。 其中包括孩子的学校成绩,帮助您了解孩子在学校表现怎么样。

Understanding the school system

All children living in Canada are entitled to a free elementary and secondary school education. Children usually begin elementary school when they are 4 or 5 years old. They start in Kindergarten. They then move on to grade 1, and finish elementary school in grade 8. They then go to secondary school, which is also called high school. In most regions of Canada, high school includes grades 9 to 12. After high school, children may continue with post-secondary education at a college or university. Post-secondary education is not free in Canada.

At the elementary and secondary levels, there are public schools and private schools. Public schools are funded by the government. They include Catholic schools, Christian schools, and non-religious schools. If you send your child to a public school, you will not have to pay for their education. If you send your child to a private school, you will have to pay tuition.

A row of books on a shelf.

Registering your child for school

To register your child in elementary or secondary school, you will need to provide proof of your child’s age and your current address. Some schools will want to test your child’s math and English language skills to see if extra support would be helpful. To begin the registration process, contact your local school.

A backpack with a Canadian flag, pens and notebooks sticking out of it.

What to expect

In Canada, the school year begins in September and ends in June. Your child will attend school Monday to Friday, except on holidays. If you arrive in Canada in the middle of the school year, do not worry. Your child will still be welcome to begin school.

In elementary school, your child will study basic reading, writing, mathematics, social studies, science, health, physical education and the arts. These are referred to as core subjects. In secondary school, your child will continue to study these core subjects. Your child will also prepare for college or university. If your child has special interests or wants to prepare for a specific career, he or she can explore other subjects, too.

Your child can also participate in after-school or lunch-time activities, such as team sports, science, music and drama clubs. Participating in these activities will help them when they apply to a college or university.

Twice a year, teachers prepare report cards for parents. These include your child’s school grades to help you understand how they are doing in school.