了解信用评级的重要性

现在您已经开始加拿大的新生活,您很可能需要购买一些东西,让生活更加舒适。 您可能需要冬衣或孩子的学校用品、新家具,甚至是新车或房屋。 如果您没有足够的资金购买这些东西,您可能需要借钱。 您借的资金叫做贷款。

贷款有很多种形式,比如信用卡账户、个人借贷,或是抵押贷款。 当您借钱时,您和债主约定还钱的时间。 如果您及时还钱,就会建立良好的信用评级——也称为信用分数。 如果您没有及时还钱,就会损害您的信用评级。 良好的信用评级很重要,因为它让债主知道,可以相信您会支付账单,还清欠款。 这有助于您在未来有需要时,以更低的利率得到更多贷款。

您的信用评级由谁决定?

在加拿大,两家大型机构——Equifax Canada 和 TransUnionCanada 会查看您的财务记录,给您打一个信用评级分数,也称为信用分数。 分数越高越好。

如何在加拿大建立信用评级?

您在本国的信用记录不再跟随您。 您需要在加拿大重新建立新的信用评级。 建立信用评级最简单的方法就是拥有一张加拿大信用卡。

信用卡让您可以在银行账户内资金不足时,或者不能使用现金付款时轻松地购物。 使用信用卡并及时还款,您就能建立良好的信用记录。 这有助于您获得良好的信用评级。 办理加拿大信用卡的一些其他原因是:

  • 您可以在有人要求您证明身份时出示信用卡
  • 如果您每月全额还款,您将无需支付利息
  • 携带信用卡比携带现金安全
  • 您可以用其支付网上购物
  • 在加拿大,人们使用信用卡为酒店预订、租车,以及机票付款
  • 信用卡帮助您管理开支
信用评级文件。

了解您的信用分数

一旦您在加拿大开始建立信用评级,您即可获得一份信用报告。 报告会告诉您的信用分数是多少。 分数在 300 至 900 之间。 分数越高,评级越好。

您可以从 TransUnion CanadaEquifax Canada处得到一份信用报告。

立即开始建立信用评级

CIBC可以为您提供帮助。 访问您的 当地分行 或致电 1-800-465-2422

Understanding the importance of your credit rating

Now that you are living in Canada, you will probably need to buy some things to make your life more comfortable. You may need winter clothes or school supplies for your children, new furniture, or maybe even a car or a house. If you do not have enough money to buy these things, you will need to borrow money. Any money you borrow is called credit.

Credit comes in many forms, like a credit card account, a personal loan, or a mortgage. When you borrow money, you and the lender agree when you will repay the money. If you repay the money on time, you build a good credit rating – also called a credit score. If you do not repay the money on time, you can hurt your credit rating. A good credit rating is important because it tells lenders that they can trust you to pay your bills and pay back loans. This will help you get more credit in the future if you need it, and get better interest rates.

Who gives you your credit rating?

In Canada, two large agencies – Equifax Canada and TransUnion Canada – look at your financial history to give you a credit-rating number, also called a credit score. The higher your score, the better.

How do you establish a credit rating in Canada?

Your credit history from your home country does not come with you. You will have to start building a new credit rating in Canada. One of the easiest ways to do this is with a Canadian credit card.

Credit cards make it easy for you to buy things when you do not have enough money in your bank account, or if you cannot pay with cash. By using your credit card and repaying the money that you borrow on time, you will create a good credit history. This will help you get a good credit rating. Here are some other reasons to get a Canadian credit card:

  • You can show your credit card when somebody asks you for identification
  • If you pay back all of the money you borrow every month, you will not have to pay interest
  • Carrying a credit card is safer than carrying cash
  • You can use it to pay for things that you buy online
  • In Canada, people use credit cards to pay for hotel bookings, car rentals, and airline tickets
  • Credit cards can help you manage your spending

Understanding your credit score

Once you have started building your credit rating in Canada, you can get a copy of your credit report. This report will tell you what your credit score is. Your score will be a number between 300 and 900. The higher your score, the better your rating. 

You can get a copy of your credit report from either TransUnion Canada or Equifax Canada

Start building your credit rating now

CIBC can help. Visit your local branch or call 1-800-465-2422.